What Price the Moral High Ground?

Denny Solomona signs for Sharks? “Retired” Goosen to join Gloucester? Burleigh RC for slap on Papé.download

And let’s not forget bloodgate…

A key reason for my passion for Rugby is that, in the words of a well known Welsh ref “this is not soccer”. The corruption, the fake injuries,  the throwing of toys out of prams and, let us be honest, the most recent FIFA outrage, Poppygate.

Of course professionalism was going to change things. Money will always change things. it was ever thus…..but I had hope that we would not descend into the cripplingly immoral behaviour that has blighted other sports. When word was that Altrad was negotiating to buy a controlling stake in Gloucester but he had ownership of a French team I thought “So?…this is rugby. There’s no corruption here”.

Am I naive? I start to look at recent incidents and I fear a pattern may be forming. I sincerely hope it’s not. Yes, Bloodgate was 7 years ago and has faded from some people’s memories….I’ve no doubts Richards would like it to fade altogether. But then I remember him casually strolling down to the closed JS Stand at Gloucester for the A league fixture in March and taking a seat half way up the middle of the stand; seemingly suggesting he was better than the rest of us. I’ve no doubts it wasn’t to hide away from his historical shame. I enjoyed watching the Stewards kick him out, if not the final score.

I am hoping that the infamy created by the limitation in number of the incidents will ensure they do not become common place; but what price morality? An infamous tale, almost certainly a myth (but we never know with this man!), about Winston Churchill suggests the following conversation took place.

Churchill: Would you sleep with me for five million pounds?

Socialite: Why Mr Churchill!..Well I suppose I would, but we would have to discuss terms of course.

Churchill: Would you sleep with me for five pounds?

Socialite: Mr Churchill just what do you think I am?

Churchill: We’ve already ascertained WHAT you are, we’re just negotiating the price.

This may seem a little harsh, of course, on those that have a limited time at the top of their profession but I recall checking out Andy Symons when I found we were signing him. His club turnover was impressive. The 24-year-old joined the Warriors in November 2013 and counts Leicester Tigers, Doncaster Knights and Tasman Makos amongst his former clubs. Certainly Warriors were miffed when they found that, after months of hard work getting him ready to return from long term injury, he had decided to up sticks down the M5. But then, that may be more to do with Hoggy’s feelings about Gloucester.

Similarly, Carl Fearns has had a regular turnover of clubs and reports that his main reason for signing for Gloucester is nothing to do with a love for the club but an intent to earn an England call up. Hardly a cry of loyalty for your new found club!!

Laidlaw is leaving to maximise his earning potential in his last few years of top flight rugby and the Pound, or Euro, signs do seem to be becoming a regular feature.

Would it be any different for me? I have to confess it would, but my working life is greatly extended over that of a professional sports person. In fact, being self employed and in an industry where my mind/brain is as an important tool as my body, retirement just doesn’t figure for me, despite the grey hairs and wrinkles.

As an aging Shed Head where do I draw the line? Again, following on from my last piece, is my experience of life in a time gone by clouding my view of the modern game? Are my demands for fair play and morals now considered twee or quaint among the younger generation?

Certainly there is at least one among those employed at Gloucester RFC known to me who seems to be of the opinion that the path well trod is that which leads to greater experience and understanding of the self…..at least once basic needs are met. Maslow was never that far wrong. But then, like me, he’s not actually playing the game anymore.

I believe we are on a slippery slope from those halcyon days. For me Richards is NEVER to be trusted again. As for Symons and Fearns they have work to do to earn my trust that they may yet develop the ephemeral quality that is loyalty that was once taken for granted.

As for the Burleigh RC that leaves, for me, the biggest question hanging over this “zero-tolerance” approach to head contact. Papê should be ashamed of his behaviour and although I entirely agree that HIAs MUST be taken seriously, we must also clamp down on those that seek to abuse the new interpretation of the regulations. For me, Papê should be banned for as long as Burleigh.

Leave a comment